1. Once you go to WhatsApp, tap on the Menu button displayed at the top right corner and then select.
  2. Go to settings → Account→ Privacy

  3. Then you can set the following options separately for last seen, profile photo about (personal information) and status


    • Everyone
      Your last seen, profile photo and/or status will be available to all WhatsApp users.
    • My Contacts
      Your last seen, profile photo and/or status will be available only to your contacts from your address book.
    • Nobody
      Your last seen, profile photo and/or status will not be available to anyone.

Source:  Handbook on Information Security, Sri Lanka CERT – CC